Australian Student Wins IAF Emerging Space Leaders Grant

Australian Student Wins IAF Emerging Space Leaders Grant

VSSEC would like to congratulate Elizabeth Blaber on being awarded a 2012 IAF Emerging Space Leaders Grant to attend the International Astronautical Congress in Naples. Elizabeth was the winner of the 2009 VSSEC-NASA Australian Space Prize.As a result of her excellent performance during her NASA Academy program she was invited to continue her work at NASA Ames studying the effects of spaceflight on tissue regeneration using animal models flown on NASA’s space shuttle missions STS-131 and STS-133. She spent several months at Kennedy Space Center in Florida preparing a cell culture payload which was flown on board Space Shuttle Atlantis on mission STS-135, NASA’s last ever shuttle mission. Elizabeth is currently completing her PhD at the University of New South Wales.

More than 95 students and young professionals from 30 countries throughout the world submitted applications to participate in the Programme. These applications were carefully reviewed and ranked in accordance with the following selection criteria:

- Candidate qualifications (educational and professional experience)
- Candidate's potential to impact positively space activities in his/her home country
- Relevance of candidate’s abstract for a technical session or his/her participation in the Next Generation Plenary.
- Substantive content of the candidate's essay
- Previous attendance at the International Astronautical Congress (In order to spread the experience of attending an IAC to as many people as possible, candidates that did not have the chance to participate yet, will be given preference)
- English language proficiency

Twelve young people have been selected to participate in the 2012 IAF Emerging Space Leaders Grant Programme and will attend the 63rd International Astronautical Congress in Naples, Italy from 1 to 5 October 2012. The participants will present a technical paper at the conference, attend the UN/IAF Workshop, and participate in a variety of panel discussions and networking events. The recipients are (listed in alphabetical order):

Dmitry Arakcheev, Russia
Graduated from the University of Chemical Technology of Russia Mendeleyev (Moscow, Russia) in 2008, Mr Arakcheev works at the Research and Design Institute of Chemical Engineering in Moscow.

Session A1: Heat-and-mass transfer during evaporation and condensation in the rotary distiller of a system for water reclamation from urine for space stations.

Elizabeth Blaber, Australia
Ms Blaber has a bachelor of Medical Science from the University of New South Wales, Australia and commenced her PhD programme in 2010 in biochemistry and molecular genetics.

Session A1: Microgravity Alters Matrix-Integrin-Kinase Signaling Cascades Resulting in Arrest of the Cell Cycle in Bone Osteoprogenitor Cells

Olavo De Oliveira Bittencourt Neto, Brazil
Mr De Oliveira Bittencourt Neto is working as a post-doctorate researcher at the University of Sao Paolo, Brazil. He is a member if the Brazilian association for aeronautics and Space law and the International Institute of Space Law (IISL).

Session E7: The elusive frontier : revisiting the delimitation of outer space

Conny Hansson, Sweden
After the completion of his PhD in the University of Manchester, UK in 2010, Mr Hansson has been working at the European Space Agency, ESTEC in the Netherlands as a research fellow.

Session D1: X-ray, y-ray and neutron detector development for future space instrumentation

Aafaque Khan, India
Mr Khan is completing a bachelor degree in mechanical engineering at Maulana Azad national Institute of Technology, India.

Session E2: Students can significantly contribute in mapping and monitoring of wetlands in their locality by using remote sensing data and GIS tools

Dusan Marceta, Serbia
Mr Marceta is working as an associated professor at the Department of Astronomy in the Faculty of Mathematics of the University of Belgrade, Serbia.

Session A3: Possibilities for the Landing on Mars Southern Highlands

Magaly Sandoval, Costa Rica
Ms Sandoval is studying mechatronic engineering at the Costa Rica’s Institute of Technology. She is a board member of the Centro American Association of Aeronautics and Space.

Session E5: The aerospace industrial and research development impact on the society of Costa Rica

Rogel Mari Sese, Philippines
Mr Sese is the head of the Astrophysics Laboratory of the University of the Philippines Los Banos. He is the chairman of the Southeast Asian Young Astronomers Collaboration.

Session E1: Space science Education in Philippine secondary schools: the current status and future development plans

Nathan Silvernail, USA
Mr Silvernail is studying mechanical engineering at the Embry Riddle Aeronautical University, USA.

Session A2: A systematic Microgravity Testing approch to advance the technology readiness level of on-orbit propellant depot

Balbir Singh, India
Mr Singh is an assistant professor at Manipal Institute of Technology, Manipal University in India.

Session D2: Dynamic Simulations of Matrix Atmospheric Entry Capsule to Mars

Vladeta Zmijanovic, Serbia
Mr Zmijanovic is a graduate student from Faculty of Mechanical engineering at the University of Belgrade, Serbia. He is finishing is PhD at the Ecole Doctorale of Sciences and Technologies of the University of Orleans.

Session C4: Secondary injection thrust vectoring of an axisymmetric CD nozzle for small space launchers & vehicles

Medinah Zubairu, Nigeria
Ms Zubairu has a Master of Science from Hmadu Bello University, Nigeria. She is an intern at the National Space Research and Development Agency in Nigeria.

Session B1: Community Remote Sensing for maximum spatial data interaction