VSSEC-NASA Australian Space Prize Winner Announced


Jiro will have the opportunity to spend 10 weeks working with a NASA scientist as part of the NASA Academy Program in 2014.

Jiro was the winner of the Space Physics and Astrophysics category, for his thesis:  Non-locality based CPT Violation for Lepto- and Baryogenesis.  

"I feel very privileged, excited and grateful to be given this opportunity to attend the NASA Academy. I look forward to doing my best and growing both academically and personally through this experience."

Jiro Funamoto 
The winning students by category are:


Lawrence Trevor, University of Sydeny

Investigations into the Miniaturised Charge-Exchange Thruster

Data Processing and Systems Engineering:

Alexander Bowen-Rotsaert, University of Queensland

A Study of Health and Usage Monitoring System Functions for the MRH90 Helicopter

Category winners will receive a $1000 prize and a certificate.

All students’ submissions were of a extremely high standard, demonstrating the innovative research being conducted in Australian universities.